books like caraval
|

12 Enchanting Books Like Caraval to Read Next

Did you love Caraval by Stephanie Garber? Here are more books like Caraval to read next!

Caraval is a popular young adult fantasy trilogy that is full of magic and romance. If you’ve read all three books and are looking for more books similar to Caraval, keep reading for my recommendations!

Disclaimer: This blog post contains affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST to you. Thank you for supporting my blog! 🙂

More Fantasy Reads:

Caraval Books In Order

There are three books in the Caraval series, they are:

Two sisters, Tella and Scarlett, who find themselves with invites to a magical competition known as Caraval, which is held on an enchanted island. But nothing is as it seems when they arrive.

Tella mysteriously disappears, and Scarlett must find her before the game is up.

The trilogy follows the two sisters (and their various romantic entanglements) as they navigate a world filled with magic and intrigue.

12 Best Books Like Caraval

Below are some of the best books like Caraval to read when you’re looking for fantasy, romance, and fun.

1. Once Upon a Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber

The best book to read after finishing the Caraval series is Once Upon a Broken Heart. 

This is the first book in a new trilogy by the same author. It’s set in the same world as Caraval, and follows one of the side characters (Jacks, the Prince of Hearts) and other familiar characters, as well as some new faces.

This is a fun, fresh story that contains all the same whimsical and romantic elements that I enjoyed about Caraval.

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus is a beautiful, lush, and atmospheric fantasy book that is similar to Caraval.

The setting of The Night Circus reminds me of Caraval. In Caraval, it’s a magical competition slash performance that happens once a year in a new location.

In The Night Circus, it’s a magical circus that appears at random in new places, and only at night.

Both books have beautiful writing and descriptions, as well as a heavy dose of romance.

3. Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Kingdom of the Wicked is a great fantasy romance trilogy to read after Caraval.

Emilia is a witch whose twin sister has been murdered, and she’ll stop at nothing to track down her sister’s killer – including summoning her enemy, the demon prince Wrath, and enlisting his help.

If you liked the sister relationship in Caraval, you will like this book (and there’s a major plot twist that will shock you!) as well as the emphasis on the romance.

4. The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

The Gilded Wolves is a first book in a young adult fantasy series that I think is perfect for fans on Caraval. The writing styles of these series feel very similar to me.

Both have beautiful prose that borders on flowery, but adds to the magical, whimsical atmosphere. This series follows a group of misfit treasure hunters led by the enigmatic SĂ©verin.

In addition to an intriguing plot, this series also has a romance that I really love.

5. Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

Another book similar to Caraval is Hotel Magnifique. This YA fantasy novel is a decadent and darkly enchanting story about a lavish magical hotel.

Much like the ever-changing competition of Caraval, the legendary Hotel Magnifique is a magical hotel that appears in a new destination every morning.

This story follows Jani, who gets a job at the hotel, but finds herself on a mission to unravel its mystery and save her sister Zosa.

There’s also a dose of romance as Jani finds the handsome doorman Bel to be one of her only allies.

6. Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

Where Dreams Descend is the first book in a young adult fantasy duology that is perfect for fans of Caraval due to its whimsical setting and romance.

It follows Kallia, a powerful showgirl who is determined to prove herself in a competition of magicians at a magical circus.

But she finds herself caught between Jack, the enigmatic owner of the club where she works, and Demarco, the brooding judge at the magician’s competition.

7. These Hollow Vows by Lexi Ryan

These Hollow Vows is a fantasy duology that is heavy on the romance and has an emphasis on sister relationships like Caraval.

Brie is a human girl who must enter the faerie realm in order to rescue who her sister, who has been taken by a cruel faerie king.

She finds herself caught between two faerie princes, neither of whom she can fully trust, as she attempts to navigate her way through this unfamiliar world and save her sister.

8. The Selection by Kiera Cass

The Selection is the first book in a young adult series that fans of Caraval may also enjoy.

This series follows America, who reluctantly participates in a competition against 35 other girls to marry the prince.

Although winning the Selection means America will escape a life of poverty in the rigid caste system, she isn’t sure how to feel about Prince Maxon, especially since she is still in love with her childhood best friend.

9. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince is the first book in a YA fantasy trilogy that is similar to Caraval with its whimsical world and simmering romance.

I really enjoyed reading not only The Cruel Prince, but the other two books in the series (The Wicked King and The Queen of Nothing)

This book follows Jude, a human girl who has been raised with her twin sister in the faerie world. She’s had to become cunning and cutthroat in order to survive in the brutal faerie realm.

She is tormented by the youngest faerie prince Cardan, but her luck changes when she finds herself in a position of power to manipulate Cardan for her own gain, even as they fight their attraction to one another.

Read More: 13 Books Like The Cruel Prince

10. The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

If you liked the competition aspect of Caraval, you will enjoy The Inheritance Games which is the first book in a young adult series.

High school student Avery inherits a fortune from a billionaire who she didn’t even know existed.

But in order to claim it, she must solve a series of puzzles, riddles, and codes, and compete against the billionaire’s legitimate heirs – his four grandsons who will do anything to claim the fortune themselves.

11. Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Heartless is another one of the best books like Caraval to read next.

If you enjoyed the whimsical and fairytale-like world of Caraval, then you will also enjoy the fairytale atmosphere of Heartless.

This book is a villain origin story for the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland.

This story follows Catherine, who is determined to define her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

12. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Finally on this list of books similar to Caraval is Three Dark Crowns. 

This is the first book in a young adult fantasy series that focuses on three triplet sisters. They have been raised separately since they were young, training and honing their magical abilities.

Now that they are sixteen, they meet once again: but it’s for a life or death competition in which they must fight one another to become the next queen and claim the throne.

Books Like Caraval to Read Next

These are the best books like Caraval to read next.

If you enjoyed the Caraval series by Stephanie Garber, and you are looking for more books similar to Caraval to read next, you just might find a new favorite book from the ones on this list.

Get these books like Caraval here:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.