books like the silent patient

11 Thrilling Books Like The Silent Patient

If you’re looking for books like The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, you’ve come to the right place.

The Silent Patient is a twisty psychological thriller about a psychotherapist who takes on his most difficult patient yet: a woman found guilty of violently murdering her husband who has refused to speak a single word since.

Nothing is as it seems in this gripping story full of startling plot twists that have you questioning everything.

After it was published in 2019, The Silent Patient became an instant bestseller.

If you have finished reading The Silent Patient, these are some of the best books like The Silent Patient to devour next.

The list of books below contain plenty of suspense, complicated characters, and shocking plot twists.

Disclaimer: This blog post contains affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST to you. Thank you for supporting my blog. 🙂

Related Post: 

11 Best Books Like The Silent Patient

Here are the best books like The Silent Patient to add to your reading list.

1. The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

If you enjoyed The Silent Patient, then you will also enjoy Alex Michaelides’ second novel The Maidens. 

This is one of the best thriller books that also has a psychotherapist as the main character.

Mariana puts her work on hold and returns to her alma mater Cambridge to comfort her niece, who is living in fear after her best friend is murdered.

When more girls start to go missing, Mariana suspects that the charismatic professor Edward Fosca is behind their deaths.

2. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Image from Amazon

Fans of The Silent Patient will also enjoy Sharp Objects. 

This psychological thriller is about a reporter named Camille, who, fresh from a stay at a psychiatric hospital, is sent back to her hometown to cover the murders of two preteen girls.

She stays with her neurotic mother and beautiful thirteen-year-old half-sister who has an eerie grip on the town, finding herself falling further down the rabbit hole in her strange homecoming.

3. Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

What if the seemingly perfect man you married turned out to be a nightmare behind closed doors?

In Behind Closed Doors, that’s exactly what happens to Grace when she marries Jack.

Now she’s racing against the clock to find a way to escape from her psychopath husband and save herself and her sister from a terrible fate.

4. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

One of the best psychological thrillers is The Girl on the Train. Rachel is an alcoholic and her life is falling apart.

Her boyfriend broke up with her and then she lost her job, and now she spends her days riding the commuter train to and from London trying to pretend everything is normal.

But when she witnesses a horrific act of violence through the train window one day, the police do not believe her due to her unreliability.

5. The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window is about a woman named Anna who lives a reclusive life due to her crippling agoraphobia.

She once had a family and was happy and successful, but now she is unable to leave her home.

When new neighbors move into the house next door, she passes the time watching them… until one night she witnesses something that she shouldn’t have, involving her in a riveting saga of psychological suspense.

6. Verity by Colleen Hoover

Verity is about a struggling writer on the brink of financial ruin when she accepts the job offer of a lifetime.

Jeremy Crawford, husband of bestselling author Verity Crawford, has hired Lowen to complete the remaining books in a successful series his injured wife is unable to finish.

But when Lowen starts the job, she uncovers a chilling unfinished autobiography that Verity never intended for anyone to read.

7. Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Then She Was Gone is a thriller about a woman named Laurel whose fifteen-year-old daughter disappeared ten years ago.

Now, she is still trying to put the pieces of her life back together, when she meets a charming man in a cafe.

Their flirtation turns to something deeper, and soon Laurel is meeting his young daughter, a girl named Poppy who reminds Laurel so much of her own missing daughter that it takes her breath away…

8. The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena

The Couple Next Door is a domestic suspense debut about a young couple and their apparently friendly neighbors who turn out to be hiding a sinister secret behind the closed doors of their seemingly perfect home.

This novel is a twisty, rollercoaster ride of lies, betrayal, and the secrets between husbands and wives.

9. The Widow by Fiona Barton

The Widow is another one of the books like The Silent Patient to read if you like psychological thrillers.

Jean hasn’t said much over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing.

Now he is dead, and there’s no reason to stay quiet. Everyone wants to hear the truth about him and what it was like to live with him, but the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything.

10. Rock Paper Scissors by Alice Feeney

Another one of the best psychological thrillers is Rock Paper Scissors. 

This book follows a couple, Adam and Amelia, who have been struggling in their marriage.

When they win a weekend away in Scotland, it seems like just the thing to help. But when they get there, secrets are revealed and it’s an anniversary they will never forget.

11. The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

The Wife Between Us is another psychological thriller book with a surprising twist.

This one leads you to assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife and a beautiful younger woman who is her replacement and about to marry the man they both love. But as the back of the book warns you, assume nothing.

Books Like The Silent Patient to Read Next

These are the best books like The Silent Patient to check out next!

If you enjoyed The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, you will like these other books too! These books similar to The Silent Patient have many of the same factors and suspenseful feeling that made this novel so popular.

Get these books like The Silent Patient here:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.