six crimson cranes review
|

6 Enchanting Books Like Six Crimson Cranes

I read Six Crimson Cranes early this year and instantly knew I needed to read more books like Six Crimson Cranes.

Recently, we are seeing more Asian fantasy books in the publication Industry. Being Asian and a reader has made me realize how important it is for diversity in not only books but also authors.

In this of books like Six Crimson Cranes, you’ll find books with similar cultural background, themes, plot and characters.

Disclaimer: This blog post contains affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST to you. Thank you for supporting my blog. 🙂

Read More: 21 Asian-Inspired Fantasy Books To Dive Right Into

Six Crimson Cranes Series by Elizabeth Lim

There are two books in this series (duology):

Six Crimson Cranes takes us through a story revolving around Princess Shiori and her six brothers trying to break a curse that was put on them by their stepmother, causing her brothers to turn into, you guessed it – crimson cranes.

This book is also a retelling of a fantasy tale called – The Wild Swans. Shiori has to break the curse but the catch is, she’s not allowed to utter a word. If she speaks, her brothers will die.

If you like a book with a strong female protagonist and a brewing romance, this book will be fun to read.

Read More: Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

6 Books Like Six Crimson Cranes

What should you read after reading Six Crimson Cranes?

1. Daughter of The Moon Goddess by Sue Lyn Tan

Daughter of The Moon Goddess is inspired by Chinese mythology – the story of Chang’e and Houyi.

You may be familiar with this mythology as to why Chinese people celebrate the mid-autumn festival.

The plot focuses around their daughter, Xingyin who is determined to free her mother, (Chang’e – the moon goddess) that is bound to the moon.

If you liked reading Six Crimson Cranes, you’ll like this one as it has not only culture but detailed world-building. The Celestial Kingdom sounds heavenly, leaving readers wanting more of the kingdom.

Plus, there’s a hint of romance too – just like Six Crimson Cranes.

Luckily, the second book to this duology will be releasing in November 2022.

Read More: Review: Daughter of The Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan

2. Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

If you liked reading Six Crimson Cranes, you have to check out Spin the Dawn as it is written by the same author!

This is the first book in a YA fantasy duology that has been described as Project Runway meets Mulan.

A teenage girl named Maia poses as a boy (hence, the Mulan reference) to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

This book is also set in the same world as Six Crimson Cranes. Therefore if you’ve read either one of these books, you’ll be familiar with the world-building.

3. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh

While Six Crimson Cranes is inspired by Chinese and Japanese mythology, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a standalone fantasy novel that is a retelling of the classic Korean folktale The Tale of Shim Cheong.

Therefore, if you’re a fan of Southeast Asian inspired mythology reads, this is a great one to add to your TBR.

This story follows a girl named Mina, who is swept away to the magical Spirit Realm after making a big sacrifice.

To end the suffering of the people, she must seek out the Sea God and wake him from his enchanted sleep in order to stop the storms that have been ravaging her homeland.

This book explores the power of love and fate. It also explores the mental strength of a young woman that is determined to follow her heart and bring good to the people she loves.

4. Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao

Iron Widow is a young adult novel that is quite unique as it blends fantasy, Chinese history, and science fiction.

The boys of Huaxia dream of pairing up with girls to pilot Chrysalises, giant transforming robots that can battle the mecha aliens that lurk beyond the Great Wall.

When eighteen-year-old Zetian offers herself up as a concubine-pilot, it’s with the sole mission to assassinate the ace male pilot responsible for her sister’s death.

This book is similar to Six Crimson Crane in themes such as power and control. Zetian is controlled by a patriarchal culture and gender roles. Men support the system because it benefits them, but often women also support the system out of convenience.

5. These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

These Violent Delights is the first book in a young adult fantasy duology set in the glittering world of Shanghai in the 1920s.

This historical fiction is a Romeo and Juliet retelling.

It follows two members of rival gangs, who must set aside their family’s feud and work together to stop a dangerous threat from destroying both their families and the city itself.

Yep, this is also a fantasy novel that includes creatures such as monsters.

If you’re a fan of enemies to lovers fantasy books, definitely pick this one up!

6. The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

Inspired by China’s military history, The Poppy War is the first book in a fantasy trilogy filled with treachery and magic.

Rin is a dark-skinned peasant girl who has obtained admission into an elite military school.

Targeted by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal magical power.

The book is has triggers such as bloodshed and war. This book is not a light read, be mentally prepared before diving into it.

Books Like Six Crimson Cranes

I hope this list of books similar to Six Crimson Cranes has helped you find your next read!

I really enjoyed reading Six Crimson Cranes for its strong-female main character, Shiori who would do anything to reverse the curse and save her brothers. Plus, I enjoyed the slight hint of romance.

What’s unique about this tale is that throughout the book, Shiori is unable to speak because of the curse. The challenges she faces are harder when she is unable to ask anyone for help!

Did you enjoy reading Six Crimson Cranes? Let me know!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.