books like the love hypothesis

12 Books Like The Love Hypothesis You Don’t Want To Miss Out On

12 Books Like The Love Hypothesis You Don’t Want To Miss Out On

If you’ve been on BookTok, you probably noticed that The Love Hypothesis has taken the Internet by storm. 

This big romance release is now acclaimed as both a New York Times Bestseller and a BookTok sensation for reasons we can definitely agree on: quirky yet real, a slow-burn romance and women in STEM.  

Books like The Love Hypothesis have themes of office romance, enemies-to-lovers tropes as well as fake dating tropes. 

Disclaimer: This blog post consists of affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST TO YOU. Thank you for supporting my book blog. 🙂

More Book Lists:

Books like the love hypothesis
Pin it for later!

The True Scientist: Ali Hazelwood

Yes, we stan a woman in STEM who writes romance tropes in the academic setting. 

An actual neuroscientist, Ali Hazelwood’s literary works shine through that love can be found everywhere. Especially in serious fields like academia. 

It’s a fresh take on rom-coms or contemporary romance novels with STEM-inist female protagonists in fake-dating tropes. 

Ali Hazelwood Books 

Some of Ali Hazelwood books that are set to be released in 2022 are: 

Why You Should Read The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

With no surprise, this book landed on most readers’ favourite list because of its storyline that’s a mixture of adorable and filled with chemistry. 

It’s not just a hot romance novel as the two main characters are highly educated, so it doesn’t feel like you’re reading a cheesy romance.

Although since the two main characters are of the education background, their choices in this plot are to question.

Adam is undeniably another addition to the long list of book boyfriends we all dream of. 

If you’re a fan of one-bed situations, fake dating and the enemies to lovers trope you must pick this book up!

Is The Love Hypothesis Spicy? 

Does the book contain PG-13 spicy stuff or is it R-18 smut? 

Yes, the book does contain mature scenes. Despite being a slow-burn romance, there’s a lot of chemistry between the two main characters.

12 Books Like The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

1. Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.4

Goodreads rating: 4.04

What Are Readers Saying?

This book is everything you could ask for in a romance novel that features the grumpy/sunshine dynamic. 

Set in Spain, the storyline is both dynamic and expressive due to its unique addition of Spanish elements. 

Elena Armas did an amazing job sparking joy in readers with the full potential of what fictional romance novels can bring.

Similar to the “having no other choice but to date” kinda trope, this book is a sure favourite read for fans of The Love Hypothesis.

2. Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.02

What are readers saying?

The Hating Game is definitely more than just an enemies-to-lovers trope. It’s filled with endless banter, pranks and of course blooming love between the two main characters.

It’s fun to see how two people who hate each other so much, end up falling in love.

While some readers shared they found the beginning draggy, they were glad that they stuck around to the end of the book. 

A guarantee reread and a great introductory book for those who aren’t snuggly with romance tropes.

3. Beach Read by Emily Henry

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.4/5

Goodreads rating: 4.06

What Are Readers Saying?

Expect a comedic romance between rivals Jan and Gus, both whom are writers.

Two writers are stuck in a creative rut, leaving them no choice but to draw inspiration from each other

Although the main theme of the book revolves around love, it also highlights betrayal, grief, failure, and learning how to take second chances in both life and love.

Beach Read is an authentic and swoonworthy book that you’ll definitely finish in one seating.

4. The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.00

What are readers saying?

There are mixed reviews for this one so pick this book up and judge for yourself. 

Similar themes to The Hating Game, It’s a typical enemies-to-lovers trope plot except this time… it extends to marriage. 

Definitely a page-turner for those who are looking for a feel-good book with a cute, lighthearted love story plus forced proximity between the two main characters.

Read More: 12 Books Like The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren 

5. The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.4

Goodreads rating: 3.94

What are readers saying?

This books will capture your heart right away with its endearing and all-consuming storyline.

Fun fact: author Helen Hoang’s journey as someone diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder inspired Stella Lane’s character. 

This book is therefore labeled as an inclusive romance!

Needless to say, if you liked The Love Hypothesis, this is a read alike that will redefine your baseline for romance novels. 

6. It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.4/5

Goodreads rating: 4.1

What Are Readers Saying?

Looking for a book filled with spicy scenes and flirty dirty talking? This book is made for you. 

Readers not only loved the character development of the two, but also loved the gradual build-up romance between Piper and Brendan as they (literally) couldn’t keep their hands off each other. 

Other than that, the book highlights the beauty of accepting yourself and building self-confidence in being comfortable in your own skin. 

Overall, a really fun read that centers around – fresh beginnings, rediscovery of self and taking a chance on love – which definitely makes this book a must-read.

7. Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Genre: Contemporary Romance, LGBT Romance 

Amazon rating: 4.6/5

Goodreads rating: 4.18

What are readers saying?

Red, White and Royal is a novel about political figures that not only is a celebration of identity, but it is also a great way to dive into education related to politics (in a fun and easy way).

Don’t worry if you aren’t a fan of the political aspect, it’s an aspect of the book that highlights the difficulties of the relationship between the two princes.

If you’re looking for books about royals, male-to-male romance and opposites attract trope, this will be a refreshing read for you.

8. Take A Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert

books like the love hypothesis
Image from Book Depository

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.5

Goodreads rating: 4.07

What Are Readers Saying?

A well-written fake dating trope romance novel you should pick up if you haven’t already. If you’re looking for a romance with steamy scenes, you’ll enjoy this one.

The second book in the Brown Sisters series, the story has extremely relatable parts that those who struggle with mental health will seek comfort in.

An unapologetic and contemporary take on addressing the difficulties of being a WOC (Women of Colour), sex positivity and mental health.

9. You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Dara 

books like the love hypothesis
Image from Book Depository

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.3

Goodreads rating: 3.71

What Are Readers Saying?

Imagine a telenovela in a book! It’s got family drama, betrayal and lies… minus the tragedies. 

What author Alexis Dara aced in this particular book is bringing in heavy conversations like the importance of consent. It also explores feminism and female agency on set. 

Though this meet-cute book has a share of fallbacks, most readers found the writing style engaging. All in all, making it an enjoyable, swoon-worthy read.

10. Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.5

Goodreads rating: 4.18

What Are Readers Saying?

Expect nothing less from the third and final book in the Brown Sisters series.

Another book with representations of Autism Spectrum Disorder, Act Your Age, Eve Brown takes readers on a journey of childhood trauma, family approval and hints of race discrimination as a Black woman. 

The book is a realistic, thought-provoking read filled with heartwarming moments that makes it an irresistible purchase.

11. The Trouble With Hating You by Sajni Patel

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Amazon rating: 4.3

Goodreads rating: 3.83

What Are Readers Saying?

Unlike the other book recommendations, this read is unlike your typical enemies-to-lovers trope. 

Written in dual-POV, it made it easier for readers to relate and understand to both the protagonists. 

Do note that the novel contains a number of triggering scenes with mentions of extreme slut-shaming, assault and emotional abuse. 

All in all, this book is a raw read and is the perfect novel to stop your long reading slump!  

12. Written In The Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur

Genre: Contemporary Romance, LGBT Romance 

Amazon rating: 4.4

Goodreads rating: 3.92

What are readers saying? 

Inspired by Pride and Prejudice, the core of its storyline are two common rom-com tropes: fake relationships and opposites attract. 

Unlike most fake relationship storylines, readers appreciated that the romance between the characters were balanced, instead of one-sided where both Darcy and Elle took the chance on each other. 

But this novel does contain themes of misogyny and homophobia that may be triggering to some. 

Even if you aren’t a fan of astrology, this is a highly recommended book for those who are fans of Pride and Prejudice and female-to-female romance. 

And that wraps up twelve books to read if you liked The Love Hypothesis

You’ll find exactly what you need and more in this list of books like The Love Hypothesis and hopefully, it inspires you to pick up a book today.

Similar Posts