books like the spanish love deception

12 Books Like The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas

12 Books Like The Spanish Love Deception by Elena Armas

Books like the Spanish Love Deception share similar themes of heartwarming romance and some spicy scenes. 

If you’re on TikTok, you will notice plenty of fake dating booktok book recommendations, with Spanish Love Deception being one of them.

Author, Elena Armas recently announced that she’s working with Peter Hutchings from BCDF Pictures to adapt the Spanish Love Deception on the big screens! 

We’ve got 12 faking dating books like the Spanish Love Deception that you’ll enjoy! 

Disclaimer: This blog post contains affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST to you. Thank you for supporting my blog.

Related Posts:

Get these books like The Spanish Love Deception here:

12 Romantic Books Like The Spanish Love Deception

1. The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

What do readers say? 

The Love Hypothesis has themes of office romance as well as a fake dating trope. 

This New York Times Bestseller and BookTok sensation is hyped for reasons we can agree on: quirky, slow-burn romance and women in STEM.  

Olive and Adam sparked it off right away, although they both refused to admit it at the start.

Unlike most romance stories, the two main characters come from a background of academia. Adam a professor and Olive a Phd student.

Read this book if you are a fan of the fake dating trope, rom-com, or contemporary romance novels with STEM-inist female protagonists in fake-dating tropes. 

2. It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

What do readers say? 

Book 1 of 2 of the Bellinger Sisters, It Happened One Summer is spicy book filled with flirty talk and steamy scenes. 

Readers enjoyed the blossoming small-town romance between “It Girl” Piper and local fisherman Brendan.

Other than the romance, readers appreciate that Piper’s city girl personality didn’t change but instead, she ends up discovering her true self with the help of the supporting characters. Talk about proper character development!

Overall, it’s a cute summer story to read in a sitting if you’re looking for the perfect grumpy meets sunshine romance.

Read More: 23 Best Summer Books

3. The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

What do readers say? 

If you’ve read Spanish Love Deception, you’ll realize they share similar themes –  enemies-turn-lovers trope plot and both stories are set at their siblings’ weddings.

While some readers felt that the book captured their hearts at parts, some thought it did not have the best storyline development and lacked the usual witty enemies-to-lovers bicker.  

Definitely a fun and mindless read for those looking for an escape read with a cute, vacation romance plus forced proximity between the two main characters. 

4. People We Meet on Vacation by Emily Henry

What do readers say? 

The core storyline in People We Meet On Vacation revolves around two best friends, Alex and Poppy, who go on their annual trip to save their friendship (and second chance romance). The story is narrated from Poppy’s POV. 

Unlike Spanish Love Deception, this book is a best friends-to-lovers trope. But of course, still do expect witty banter and a slow-burn romance. 

Without a doubt, readers thoroughly devoured it from start to end due to the character flashbacks and raw emotions portrayed in the book.

The characters are well-written with real flaws and traits that make it easy for readers to relate to and eventually fall in love with them. 

A must-read if you’re looking for a fresh take on the typical friends-to-lovers trope and a wholesome declaration of love. 

5. The Dating Plan by Sara Desai

What do readers say? 

If you liked the Spanish Love Deception, you’d enjoy The Dating Plan with similar themes of a fake fiancée situation. 

There are mixed reviews about the book. Most readers adored the second chance romance trope and finished it in a single sitting. 

But some readers found the storyline predictable and felt that the supporting characters did not add much value to the story. 

What’s more interesting is how two completely different cultures (Irish and Indian) come together, making it a diversified read.

6. The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon

What do readers say? 

Similar to Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game, The Ex Talk is a unique workplace romance that revolves around co-workers Shay and Dominic, who pretend to be exes. 

But what’s interesting about the story is that Shay is five years older than Dominic, which is great for representation as we do not see older women characters much in books.

Readers enjoyed the witty, natural and intelligent banter between Shay and Dominic, as well as the characters’ diverse cultural representations. Readers felt a dual perspective would’ve helped readers understand Dominic more through his inner dialogues. 

Do note that the book contains themes of grief, loss and workplace misogyny that some may find disturbing. 

If you enjoyed Spanish Love Deception, this is a feel-good read with a mix of steamy scenes, hate-to-love romance, plus forced proximity between the two main characters.

7. The American Roommate Experiment by Elena Armas

What do readers say? 

As evident as it is, one of the other books similar to the Spanish Love Deception is The American Roommate Experiment. 

This Spanish Love Deception sequel is set to be published in early September 2022.

While it is a sequel, this book is considered a standalone novel that follows Rosie, best friend of Lina’s, the protagonist from Spanish Love Deception, and Lucas (Lina’s cousin) in a friends-to-lovers trope. 

Readers were not disappointed by this book and enjoyed the appearances of the characters whom they loved in Spanish Love Deception appears as supporting characters to Rosie and Lucas in this book. 

Besides the swoony experimental dates, forced proximity and unrequited secret crushes, The American Roommate Experiment tackles relatable topics such as imposter syndrome and mental health. 

8. The Road Trip by Beth O’Leary 

What do readers say? 

Set in the backdrop of a car, The Road Trip is a second-chance romance story, plus the forced proximity between ex-lovebirds Addie and Dylan. 

Alternating between a dual timeline of “Then” and “Now”, readers will come to unravel the electric romance Addie and Dylan once shared and also how it ended two years ago

The “Now” fast-forwards to two years later when Addie and Dylan make amends in the car.  

There are a lot of trigger warnings in this book. That’s something to keep in mind before reading.

9. The Dating Dare by Jayci Lee 

What do readers say? 

Another sequel from the series A Sweet Mess, The Dating Dare, can be considered a standalone book though take note that previous characters make appearances throughout the book.  

This a book that ticks all the boxes for a perfect rom com – friends-to-lovers trope, sizzling chemistry between the protagonists, witty banter and laugh-out-loud moments. 

Both the characters, Tara and Seth, have been deeply hurt by their previous partners and are only seeking for more casual fun. Hence, the dating dare of just four dates. 

The character diversity, mainly Korean-American and cultural elements such as Korean food makes the book even worth reading. 

10. To Love Jason Thorne by Ella Maise

What do readers say? 

Another friends-to-lovers trope, To Love Jason Thorn touches on second-chance romance between childhood friends Olive and Jason. 

If you liked Spanish Love Deception in all its fake marriage plus closed proximity glory, this book shares also similar themes.

The story’s plot revolves around Jason starring in a film adaptation of Olive’s book inspired by her childhood crush on Jason. 

Also written in dual perspective, readers enjoyed the author’s writing style and the history between Olive and Jason at the start for context.

Unfortunately, some readers were unconvinced that Olive and Jason were in love with each other as there weren’t strong enough reasons to prove otherwise. 

11. Kiss My Cupcake by Helena Hunting 

What do readers say? 

Kiss My Cupcake is more of an opposites attract rom-com than an enemies-to-lovers trope. 

The opposite attracts extends to the main characters businesses – Blaire’s cupcake store and Ronan’s bar. 

The story walks through an all out prank war for both Blaire and Ronan’s shops. Told through dual perspective, readers quickly learned the inner monologues of both characters that easily tapped into their emotions. 

Readers adored both characters with Blaire being the driven, independent woman with a hint of quirkiness and Ronan being the kind, family-oriented man with a pinch of snarkiness.

Readers expressed the book was funny read, making it impossible NOT to laugh out loud. 

12. Love at First Spite by Anna E. Collins 

What do readers say? 

If you enjoy a slow-burn romance with an enemies-to-lovers trope, home design element and revenge, Collins’s debut novel is for you. 

Architect, Dani is on a mission to get back at her ex-fiancée, who cheated on her. What does she do? Buy a house next to her ex-fiancée house and calls it the project “Spite House”. 

The story progresses more of a grumpy/sunshine trope when Dani reaches out to Wyatt, a colleague at her architect firm, to help solidify her plans. 

Readers enjoyed all the characters in the story and felt that each of them had distinct characteristics that made them unique from one another.

Books like The Spanish Love Deception have endless drama and sizzling romance.

This list will help both new and existing romance readers to find their next swoon-worthy read!

Get these books like The Spanish Love Deception here:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.