books like a court of thorns and roses
|

24 Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses

Are you looking for books like A Court of Thorns and Roses to read next?

If you have devoured A Court of Thorns and Roses and are looking for more books like ACOTAR, then you’re in the right place! I’ve compiled this list of books to read after A Court of Thorns and Roses.

All of the books on this list are fantasy (some YA and some adult) with plenty of romance thrown in.

Some of these are fantasy books about faeries like A Court of Thorns and Roses, while other books are similar in other ways. If you liked the ACOTAR series, hopefully you will find some new favorites from this list!

Disclaimer: This blog post contains affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST to you. Thank you for supporting my blog! 🙂

More Fantasy Reads:

ACOTAR Books In Order

The A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas became a bestselling hit. Most readers love the blend of fantasy and romance in this series, which currently has five books.

24 Books Like A Court of Thorns and Roses

Here are the best books like A Court of Thorns and Roses to read next:

1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

One of the best places to start after finishing A Court of Thorns and Roses is with the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas.

This is another fantasy series and it has seven books total. It follows Celaena, a deadly assassin who is released from prison to compete to become the king’s own assassin.

If you enjoyed the protagonist Feyre in A Court of Thorns and Roses, you will also like Celaena. This series is also heavy on the romance too.

2. The Awakening (Zodiac Academy #1) by Caroline Peckham and Susanne Valenti 

This six-part fae fantasy book series follows twin sisters Darcy and Tory Vega, who thought themselves to be ordinary girls until they find out about their ancestry.

The twins harness powers from all four elements: Air, fire, water, and earth once they were whisked away to The Zodiac Academy.

Readers loved this tale’s elemental magic, paranormal creatures, dragon shifters, vampires and werewolves.

3. House of Earth and Blood by Sarah J. Maas

House of Earth and Blood is the first book in the Crescent City series, the latest fantasy series from Sarah J. Maas.

This adult urban fantasy is about half-fae and half-human Bryce, who gets caught up in a magical underworld after her best friends are murdered by demons.

Once again, if you enjoyed the characters, world-building, and romance of A Court of Thorns and Roses, you will also like this series from Sarah J. Maas.

4. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

If you loved the fae and the romance of A Court of Thorns and Roses, then you will love The Cruel Prince too.

This is the first book in a YA fantasy trilogy about a human girl named Jude who has been raised in the faerie world.

She has had to become cunning and cutthroat in order to survive among the fae.

This series is full of political intrigue and action, along with an enemies to lovers romance that will have you swooning. If you’ve read The Cruel Prince, these books will be right up your alley

Read More: The Cruel Prince By Holly Black – Book Review

5. These Hollow Vows by Lexi Ryan

These Hollow Vows is another book about a human girl who must make her way in the fae world, in this case because our heroine Brie’s sister has been kidnapped by a faerie king.

Although this book is marketed as YA, it definitely felt more mature with the romance, making this perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses.

It’s just a duology, so if you are not looking for a long series to read, this is a good one to pick up.

6. Curse of the Wolf King (Entangled with Fae #1) by Tessonja Odette

If you like retellings, you’ll enjoy this standalone Beauty and the Beast retelling.

Set in the same world as The Fair Isle Trilogy, Gemma is putting in all efforts to live a gossip-free, financially stable life with her books and get over her heartbreak until she falls for the beastly fae’s trick and is held for ransom.

Cursed Fae King, Elliot will do anything to break his deadly curse, even if it means making bargains with a weak mortal. 

Gemma must help King Elliot to find his true love before it’s too late. Relying on a mortal to find potential brides is risky but a risk he must take before he’s out of options and time.

7. Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin

Serpent and Dove is the first book in a YA fantasy trilogy about a witch named Lou who ends up in a forced marriage with a witch-hunter named Reid.

She has to hide the fact that she’s a witch from him, while also hiding from the powerful witch who is tracking her down after Lou left her coven.

There’s an enemies to lovers romance and the writing style and characters in this one also reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses.

8. Furyborn by Claire Legrand

Another one of the best series like A Court of Thorns and Roses is the Empirium trilogy, the first book which is Furyborn. 

This series follows two young women living 1,000 years apart: one a prophesied queen, the other a struggling bounty hunter, whose paths intersect in an unlikely way.

This is another series I see marketed as YA, but it definitely leans into more adult territory with the romance.

The Empirium trilogy also has incredible world-building and an engaging plot if you are looking for a unique fantasy series to read next.

9. Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

This is the first book in Cassie Clare’s spin-off trilogy, taking place five years after the events of her previous series – The mortal instruments. 

Readers love this magical world full of all sorts of creatures. If you liked reading ACOTAR, you’ll like this one as faes happen to be at the centre of this book.

Set in Los Angeles, tag along with Emma, a shadow hunter, as she learns to trust herself and takes life-threatening risks. She must find out what killed her parents with the help of Julian Blackthorn. 

With an unpredictable plot line, this book is definitely a page-turner.  

10. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows is the first book in an incredibly popular YA fantasy duology about a teenage gang pulling off a seemingly impossible heist.

While on the surface this might seem like a less likely comparison to A Court of Thorns and Roses, what I think fans of the ACOTAR series will enjoy are the character dynamics and friendships, as well as the romances, although that is definitely less of a focus in this series.

Related: 12 Books Like Six of Crows to Read Next

11. Elemental Fae Academy (Elemental Fae Academy #1) by Lexi C. Foss and J.R. Thorn 

If you’re looking for more books like ACOTAR, you might want to consider picking this up.

Claire, a half-fae, finds out that she can control all five magical elements. No one else has been able to do that. 

She must learn how to wield them properly while Exos and Titus, two very powerful faeries, help her navigate around the breathtaking academy.

Claire might be mighty, but if she doesn’t learn how to control it soon, it’ll do more damage than good. 

Readers liked this Academy trilogy with the reverse harem trope, as it’s an easy read. They think this harem paranormal romance is fast-paced with a medium burn.

12. The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1) by Julie Kagawa

In the first book of The Iron Fey series, lose yourself in the magical land of Nevernever and uncover long-forgotten secrets with Meghan. 

Her step-brother has been kidnapped by the ruthless Iron king and she’ll do whatever it costs to get him back with her friend Robbie tagging alongside. 

Readers say this is pretty fast-paced and a thrilling read with danger at every step, you’ll also meet side characters to adore and especially everyone’s favourite character, Prince Ash on this exciting journey. 

13. The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

The Shadows Between Us is a standalone YA fantasy novel about a girl named Alessandra, who has a ruthless plot to marry the Shadow King, then kill him and take his throne.

This is a fantasy book with a heavy focus on the romance, which is an enemies to lovers romance between Alessandra and the Shadow King.

14. From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

One of the best books like A Court of Thorns and Roses is From Blood and Ash. This adult fantasy series is very heavy on the romance, and reminded me a lot of ACOTAR.

It’s about a girl named Poppy, who has been chosen from birth to fulfill the role of the Maiden.

However, the life she thought she knew if turned upside down when she meets Hawke, her roguish new guard who seems to be hiding a lot of secrets.

Related: 15 Best Books Like From Blood and Ash

15. The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black 

The town of Fairfold’s fragile semblance of peace is broken when deep in the woods, a prince with horns and pointy ears, sleeping in a glass coffin, awakens.

The story follows our main protagonists and siblings, Ben and Hazel. Unfortunately, Hazel makes a foolish bargain with a fae and now she has to deal with the consequences of her action.

Wrapped in all chaos, Alderking, the king of faerie realms, demands his sword and son back. Now Hazel and Ben must find their way out of this mess while protecting the ones they love.

Readers like how Ben and Hazel always have each other’s backs no matter what. 

This standalone is well-rounded and the characters are very lovable. It’s the perfect blend between contemporary romance and fairy tales.

16. A Dance with the Fae Prince (Married to Magic #2) by Elise Kova 

This standalone is inspired by Cinderella as well as the tales of Psyche and Eros books.

Katria, a young woman, has sworn never to fall in love. She doesn’t believe in true ‘love’ after all the things her abusive mother and sisters have done to her.

Being sold off to a mysterious fae prince,  Lord Davien Fenwood, Katria is sucked into the fae world of Midscape

What Katria doesn’t know is that Lord Fenwood has secrets of his own that would change her world forever. 

With a bloodthirsty king after her because she accidentally stole the magic of the ancient kings, Davien and Katria must find a solution together.

17. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

If you liked the Beauty and the Beast retelling aspect of the first book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, then you will enjoy Cruel Beauty. 

This is a standalone fantasy book is about a young woman named Nyx who has always known it is her duty and fate to marry the evil ruler of her kingdom and kill him.

18. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The Shadow and Bone trilogy is perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses.

This YA fantasy series is about Alina, an orphan who is discovered to be the prophesied Sun Summoner, blessed with a magical gift that may be able to save the Ravkan people from a horrible threat on their land.

She is pulled into the magical world of the Grisha in this series which has plenty of romance, action, and unique world-building.

19. A Fate of Wrath & Flame (Fate & Flame #1) by K.A. Tucker

A gifted thief on a new deadly mission, Romeria must steal a stone from Islor’s sacred garden. The catch is that she is mortal and barely knows anything about living among the fae.

While disguised as a soon-to-be queen, she must finish her task before things get out of hand. Newly crowned King, Zander, oblivious to Romeria’s true identity, must keep his secrets under wraps at all costs.

He finds some value in her existence and offers her to either rot in a cell or help him uncover growing plots against him.

20. A Dark and Hollow Star by Ashley Shuttleworth

If you are looking for another fae story like a Court of Thorns and Roses, check out A Dark and Hollow Star. 

This YA urban fantasy series is very similar and has plenty of drama and politics between faerie courts.

This story follows a group of fae and half-fae who must work together to protect their world and the human world.

21. An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

Another fae book similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses is An Enchantment of Ravens. 

This is a standalone YA fantasy novel about a human girl named Isobel who makes a living painting portraits of faeries.

However, when she makes a grave error while painting the Autumn Prince, she gets swept off to the faerie realm. She and the Autumn Prince end up falling for each other on their journey in this sweet and romantic book.

22. A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

A Curse So Dark and Lonely is the first book in a young adult fantasy trilogy.

It is similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses in that the first book features a Beauty and the Beast retelling.

Harper is a girl who is kidnapped from the human world and taken to a magical realm in order to break the curse on Prince Rhen.

23. A Deal With the Elf King

A Deal With the Elf King is a standalone adult fantasy romance novel that is perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses. Luella is a healer living in a town that borders the elven lands.

When the Elf King comes for her to make her the Human Queen of his lands, she sacrifices herself in order to keep her people safe.

24. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Finally on this list of books like A Court of Thorns and Roses is Red Queen. This YA fantasy series is perfect for fans of ACOTAR because of its strong female protagonist Mare, who is like Feyre in many ways.

Mare is a poor Red-blooded thief struggling to survive in a world ruled by Silver-blooded elites.

However, when it’s revealed that she has a dangerous and rare power, she is forced to pretend to be a part of the scheming royal court.

Books Like ACOTAR to Read Next

These are the best books like A Court of Thorns and Roses to read next.

If you enjoyed the ACOTAR series by Sarah J. Maas, chances are you will like these too!

These books similar to A Court of Thorns and Roses are packed with romance, intrigue, and adventure. Hopefully you will be able to find a new favorite from these other great books like ACOTAR.

You might also want to check out these other great fae romance books.

Get these books like A Court of Thorns and Roses here:

Related: 22 YA Fantasy Romance Books That Will Make You Swoon

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.