books like six of crows
|

12 Books Like Six of Crows to Read Next

Looking for books like Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo? Here are the best similar books to read next!

Six of Crows is the first book in a highly acclaimed young adult fantasy duology. The second book is Crooked Kingdom. Both books became bestsellers when they were published in 2015 and 2016.

Then, in 2021, Six of Crows was adapted to the screen in the popular Netflix show Shadow and Bone, which combines elements from Six of Crows and Leigh Bardugo’s other popular series Shadow and Bone.

Six of Crows is a fast-paced fantasy story following a group of teenage criminals led by the notorious Kaz Brekker, one of the most feared gang leaders in the Ketterdam underworld.

The group of six must team up in order to pull off a seemingly impossible heist that will make them rich if they succeed, and dead if they fail.

Disclaimer: This blog post contains affiliate links. They are of NO EXTRA COST to you. Thank you for supporting my blog. 🙂

More Fantasy Posts:

Get these books like Shadow and Bone here:

12 Books Like Six of Crows

1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

The obvious first place to start after Six of Crows is with Shadow and Bone. 

This is Leigh Bardugo’s first series, and it’s set in the same world as Six of Crows, but takes place in a different country, Ravka, several years before.

This trilogy gives more explanation of the Grisha magic that is mentioned in Six of Crows.

2. Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes takes us through a story revolving around Princess Shiori and her six brothers trying to break a curse that was put on them by their stepmother, causing her brothers to turn into, you guessed it – crimson cranes.

This book is also a retelling of a fantasy tale called – The Wild Swans.

This book is similar to Six of Crows as there’s a group of tightly knitted people working together to defeat something or another.

Read More: Review: Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim

3. These Violent Delights

These Violent Delights is a thrilling retelling of “Romeo and Juliet” set in 1920s Shanghai. We love that there’s POC and queer representation in this classic Shakespeare spin.

Juliette and Roma both come from renowned gangs whose reputations run deep in the streets of Shanghai.

The gang aspect of this book, world-building and fantasy elements like monsters, will remind you of Six of Crows.

4. King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo

Another Leigh Bardugo book to read if you liked Six of Crows is King of Scars. 

This is another duology set in the same world, and it follows Nina from Six of Crows as well as several characters from Shadow and Bone.

For that reason, it’s best to read King of Scars after you’ve read Six of Crows and Shadow and Bone.

5. The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

The Gilded Wolves is one of the closest series I can recommend to Six of Crows.

It has many of the same elements: an adventurous heist story, an interesting world full of magic, and a band of misfit characters guided by an enigmatic leader.

If you liked the hints of romance in Six of Crows, you will also really enjoy it here.

6. The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince is another book that I think you will enjoy if you liked Six of Crows. It is the first book in a young adult fantasy trilogy about a human girl named Jude who has been raised in the faerie world.

She has had to become cunning and cutthroat in order to survive among the vicious fae for so many years.

This series is full of political intrigue, action, romance, and morally gray characters much like Six of Crows.

Plus if you’re looking for books with characters like Kaz Brekker, The Cruel Prince a.k.a Cardan Greenbriar will definitely peak your interest.

Check out my full review on The Cruel Prince, The Wicked King, and The Queen of Nothing.

If you enjoyed reading The Cruel Prince, binge on these 13 Books Like The Cruel Prince.

7. The Mask of Mirrors by M. A. Carrick

The Mask of Mirrors is an adult fantasy novel that is perfect for fans of Six of Crows.

It’s set in a richly-imagined fantasy world inspired by Venice, and follows a thief and con artist named Ren who is attempting to pull off the fraud of a lifetime: tricking her way into a noble house by pretending to be a lost heir.

Like Six of Crows, this series contains morally gray characters who you can’t help but rooting for, and lots of intrigue and action.

8. Ace of Shades by Amanda Foody

If you liked the glittering, cutthroat setting of Ketterdam in Six of Crows, you will also enjoy the setting of Ace of Shades.

This young adult fantasy novel takes place in the City of Sin, a Las Vegas-inspired place with notorious casino families and gangs ruling the streets.

It follows a main character named Enne whose mother goes missing, and she must bargain with Levi, a street lord and con artist, in order to enlist his help in finding her.

9. Serpent and Dove by Shelby Mahurin

The author of Serpent and Dove was inspired by the relationship between Nina and Matthias in Six of Crows, so if you enjoyed those characters, you’ll enjoy this book.

It’s a fantasy story set in a medieval France-inspired world about a witch named Lou and a witch hunter named Reid who are enemies but end up forced together.

10. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Truthwitch is the first book in a young adult fantasy series that is similar to Six of Crows.

I think if you enjoyed the friendships and relationships between characters in Six of Crows, you will enjoy this book which has a strong friendship at its center.

It also features a very unique and inventive fantasy world setting.

11. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

If you liked the fast-paced heist story aspect of Six of Crows, you will love that this is also present in Mistborn. 

This is a young adult fantasy novel that follows a talented thief and natural leader named Kel, who recruits a crew from the underworld’s elite in order to pull off what appears to be an impossible heist.

12. Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett

Finally on this list of books like Six of Crows is Foundryside. This is an adult fantasy novel following the main character of Sancia, a successful thief with unique abilities.

But when she gets a job to steal a magical artifact, it suddenly puts a target on her back from the Merchant Houses who control the city.

This is a great series for fans of Six of Crows with its unique world-building and magic system, and morally gray main character.

Books Like Six of Crows to Read Next

These are the best books like Six of Crows to read next.

If you enjoyed Six of Crows, hopefully you will find another favorite among these books.

Get these books like Shadow and Bone here:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.